Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Developing and etching PCBs

:: EPE Chat Zone ­:: ­Radio Bygones Message Board :: » EPE Forum Archives 2010 - » Archive through 13 January, 2012 » Developing and etching PCBs « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

yorkie
Valued Member
Username: yorkie

Post Number: 16

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, 12 January, 2012 - 05:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've been making my own PCBs for many years, using a home-brew UV light box. Most of what I've done has been to copy magazine artwork rather than to design my own - I'm afraid that I'm not vey far up the food chain when it comes to using PCB design software!

The following notes on my own experiences might be of interest - I'm not saying it's the best way or the only way for a hobbyist constructor - just what works for me.

I use UV aerosol lacquer, which I spray onto plain board rather then to buy pre-sensitised boards. That way, if somthing goes wrong - under exposure or too strong a developer mix, I can wipe the board clean with meths and respray it with lacquer - the only loss is my time, and it's a hobby anyway, so that's no big deal. I spray the plain board in as dust-free an area as I can, which for me, is the greenhouse! I cover it with a plastic box right away to keep dust from settling on the board, then leave it in a desk drawer overnight to harden off.