Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Teach in 2014 - Raspberry Pi series -...

:: EPE Chat Zone ­:: ­Radio Bygones Message Board :: » Raspberry Pi archives » Teach in 2014 - Raspberry Pi series - Component suggestions and alternatives « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  Start New Thread        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

theduffers
Just joined
Username: theduffers

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, 22 December, 2013 - 03:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am a beginner so apologies if I appear a bit thick...

I am trying to work through some of the examples in the above topic and am struggling to work out the diode that I should use as D1-D8 in the output driver on page 42. (December 2013 issue)

I am slowly learning but when trying to find a diode there are thousands to choose from and not knowing what properties are essential is difficult.

If there is a generic type of diode i should use I can then order those. Any suggestion for components to have in my bits box would also be useful.

Thanks in advance. I seriously have a lot to learn. Not wrong with the deepend:-)

arw
Board Administrator
Username: arw

Post Number: 1502

Posted on Monday, 23 December, 2013 - 05:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Welcome aboard!

I couldn't quite make the diodes out from the photo on page 43 but they look like standard glass silicon diodes, so they're probably a 1N4148. It's the ULN2803 that's doing all the hard work so the inputs (= current passing through the diodes) are logic level signals only.

An alternative to try would be the 1N4001, the standard junkbox silicon rectifier.