Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Royer Converter

:: EPE Chat Zone ­:: ­Radio Bygones Message Board :: » EPE Forum Archives 2007-2009 » Archive through 02 March, 2007 » Royer Converter « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

poriet
Frequent Contributor
Username: poriet

Post Number: 135

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, 01 March, 2007 - 10:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi everyone,
I'm intending to do some stuff which involves getting 200-400V out of a 12V battery. No doubt there are lots of terribly clever ways of doing this, but I'm not an electrical engineer and I cant design SMPSs. So it's a Royer converter or nothing.
I've just finished making one from a design in an old R.M.Marston book on circuits for cars.The original circuit was a self-oscillating astable MV. What I want to do now, instead, is to use a square-wave oscillator and two N-Ch enhancement MOSFETs. I may even try to make the circuit with the Texas TL494 which has a dead-time feature.
As the transformer is a mains-type ( in reverse ). I suppose I should operate around 50Hz although I've seen circuits for these devices which used frquencies of 1KHz!
I guess the first question, then, is this:
Is there any advantage in using frequencies higher than 50Hz on an iron-cored transformer.
What sort of frequency would be an upper limit?
Regards
P.

winston
Username: winston

Post Number: 10

Posted on Thursday, 01 March, 2007 - 11:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)