Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Which C compiler to choose

:: EPE Chat Zone ­:: ­Radio Bygones Message Board :: » EPE Forum Archives 2007-2009 » Archive through 13 April, 2007 » Which C compiler to choose « Previous Next »

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

hackinblack
Frequent Contributor
Username: hackinblack

Post Number: 122

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, 05 April, 2007 - 09:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

does anyone have experience,good,bad or otherwise of the PIC C compilers currently available? i am looking for a not too expensive well supported and capable program,which is still useable for a complete novice to high level languages.BoostC and FED are current prospects,any one have any views?

obiwan
Frequent Contributor
Username: obiwan

Post Number: 1633

Posted on Thursday, 05 April, 2007 - 11:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You can start with the MPLAB (18 series parts though), it's free, well supported and capable.

If nothing else, you can just use that as a spring board to something else. C is C. Meaning it's portable, so find a better compiler, and away you go.....

When you install it, you get a message about it being only the full package for a trail period, after that certain "things" are dis-abled.

Mostly speed and compactness issues. But supposedly, what gets disabled really doesn't matter that much.

Programs are only a fraction slower and only a might larger. Supposed to be easy to live with.

Now that's only what I have heard, I'm waiting to install it myself.
Do Not Hit The Fly That Lands On The Tigers Head.

john_becker
:::: Super User ::::
Username: john_becker